Make payments with PayPal - it's fast, free and secure! registry | CVN on Facebook | tech | news | email login Make payments with PayPal - it's fast, free and secure!

Welcome to CVN - Your Panther platform headquarters!

Custom Search

Topic Options
#2901247 - 06/09/15 09:17 AM 2001 Merc GM-EGR/Cylinder Head Temp Sensor Codes +
RaceOn99 Offline
Stranger

Loc: Florida
Hello All...Newbie here. In February I purchased a 2001 Grand Marquis w/114K miles. The car would surge every now and then and the CEL was on so I had that checked and the code P0401 for the EGR come up. We replaced EGR with a new one. CEL came back on after a bit. I wanted my new purchase to have new plugs and Coils put on. Still no significant difference in power after doing that. After a month I noticed coolant coming out of the housing to where the thermostat is...it was cracked. I had the intake manifold replaced and was told the new intake came with a new thermostat and that was replaced too. Coil #4 was also replaced. Since then I hear what seems to sound like valves ticking and some whining noise from the engine but not sure exactly where from. My mechanic just says it could be a sensor. I'm not happy with that. This noise can get worse while accelerating. Now, I find that while running the A/C when 90 degrees out it will blow warm and the temp light will come on and the temp gauge goes way up to "overheating". I put on the heat and the gauge automatically goes back down and the car starts to sputter. I believe I read that the car is going through "failsafe" mode because I'm not leaking coolant at all. I am now throwing a code P1299 for Cylinder head sensor. Is it possible that I had gotten coolant where the plugs and coils go when the intake manifold cracked on me? And this is the cause of all this?
I just now found out that the person I had do the plugs and coils did not use any dielectric grease!