Make payments with PayPal - it's fast, free and secure! registry | CVN on Facebook | tech | links | news | email login | chat Make payments with PayPal - it's fast, free and secure!

Welcome to CVN - Your Panther platform headquarters!

Custom Search

Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#1929815 - 12/08/09 08:11 PM 99CV won't start. Fuel pump/relay problem?
JimmyKudo Offline

Loc: Southern California
I'm a newbie to cars so please go easy on me. \:\)

My 99cv won't start and I think it's the relay or the pump itself.

Right now I hear a ticking noise coming from the relay box when I turn the ignition key to power only. The noise is just two separate ticks about 2 or 3 seconds apart, which is the usual time that the fuel pump runs if it was working.

Normally I'd hear the ticking noise, then the fuel pump would cycle, or try to cycle, but now it's dead back there and I can't get pressure at the rails to start it. I'll try to have a video up with the noise tomorrow.

I don't have the technical knowledge or tools to replace the pump, the car won't start so I can't get it to a shop, and just looking at the fuel pump relay box makes me worry, there's no connectors for the wires and the box doesn't look like it opens.

Help please. \:\) Any ideas on how to just get her started would be of great help. I tried using jump cables this morning, hoping that maybe my battery was just going low on me, but that did nothing.

Links
#1929825 - 12/08/09 08:17 PM Re: 99CV won't start. Fuel pump/relay problem? [Re: JimmyKudo]
JimmyKudo Offline

Oh and also, the relay box actual moves very slightly when I turn the key (before trying ignition).

Just in case you were wondering as well, I don't think it's a starter problem because the starter sounds like it's working fine, and the battery has held the charge of me trying these past few days (until I charged it this morning) so I think that and the alternator is fine.