Make payments with PayPal - it's fast, free and secure! registry | CVN on Facebook | tech | news | email login Make payments with PayPal - it's fast, free and secure!

Welcome to CVN - Your Panther platform headquarters!

Custom Search

Page 2 of 5 < 1 2 3 4 5 >
Topic Options
#1008445 - 08/22/06 01:32 AM Re: NYPD adds Charger to CV fleet
Hill185 Offline

Over the Hill

Loc: Boston, Mass.
Quote:

Quote:

we'll see if they can outlive the vic's ,outpower cv's ..yea , last longer ... no way

I have no experience in this field, so this is an honest question, but...

how much do we really need Crown Vics in our fleets? Reliability has proven itself to be a strong point--but the same is true of any number of other, otherwise superior cars that would reduce gas costs drastically.

How much is a full frame and V8, RWD necessary for a police force? Europeans use small, FWD cars for their police forces--what makes the US forces more in need of such huge things?

Passenger space in the back of the car shouldn't be an issue, as the only people going in there will be criminals who are already handcuffed and probably decidedly uncomfortable.

So why do we need barges to patrol our streets? I'm not trying to say we shouldn't, or advocate the use of smaller, more modern cars, it's just that I don't really understand why we use these things.

Being safe is a big concern. How many euro officers were

killed because there little car was crushed. Or how well

there police vehicles hold up/last. Who knows what those

numbers read. I would not want to be in a Ford Focus on

the side of the highway with cars going 70+ beside me.

("Interceptor4lyf")

#1008446 - 08/22/06 01:41 AM Re: NYPD adds Charger to CV fleet
BMFer Offline
I'm your huckleberry
Grand Poobah

Loc: 30106
Quote:

I have no experience in this field, so this is an honest question, but...