Make payments with PayPal - it's fast, free and secure! registry | CVN on Facebook | tech | news | email login Make payments with PayPal - it's fast, free and secure!

Welcome to CVN - Your Panther platform headquarters!

Custom Search

Topic Options
#4005658 - 02/28/19 07:46 AM EGR deletion
repentarms Offline
n00b

Loc: NC
This is most likely a noob question, but that’s cool, because I am a noob, after all. The previous owner of my 88 had BBK shorty headers installed, and at the same time, apparently disconnected everything attached to the EGR spacer.

With that being the case, and since the car runs like a sewing machine without it connected, would it be feasible to just remove the spacer and bolt the throttle body directly to the intake plenum?
2010 ex-NCHP interceptor. Silver birch. Deleted rear cats, factory H pipe, 2 Flowmaster 40s, extended chrome tips. Mach 1 chin spoiler, AFE cold air, Kenwood bluetooth/DVD head unit, 4 Kenwood 6x8s, Kicker CompR 2x12 sub w/1200w Kicker amp. Foose F105 Legend 20" wheels. Dropped 1.5" all around. Custom bluetooth LED pods behind grill and under dash/seats. LED headlights.

1988 Crown Vic LX. All original except BBK Mustang shorty headers, H pipe, 2.5" custom pipe with crazy Flowmaster 10s, turned down under trunk. Smog pump deleted. Sony head unit and Kicker 6x9/5.25/3.25 speakers. Total inside and out LED conversion.

#4005742 - 02/28/19 11:44 PM Re: EGR deletion [Re: repentarms]
Bellwestern80 Offline

CVN Discord: Edsel
Over the Hill

Loc: Evans, Georgia
The throttle/transmission line bracket bolts to the EGR spacer.

Best thing to do would just get a block off plate and use one of those EGR sensor foolery devices they sell to get that squared up if you're not trying to get the EGR functional again.

My Cars:
-1964 Mercury Comet 202 (116K Miles | 170 I6) - Awaiting Repairs in a Cozy Garage
-1987 Mercury Colony Park LS (330K Miles | H.O. 302) - March 2017 POTM Winner & November 2019 POTM Winner