Make payments with PayPal - it's fast, free and secure! registry | CVN on Facebook | tech | news | email login Make payments with PayPal - it's fast, free and secure!

Welcome to CVN - Your Panther platform headquarters!

Custom Search

Topic Options
#4122962 - 10/01/21 05:04 PM New Here, 2001 GM in Los Angeles
Pintoguy Offline
Stranger

Loc: CA
Soon to be relocating to Detroit.

Im new to the Panthers.

My Dad in Detroit has had quite a few Lincolns and is need of a new car so I bought this Grand Marquis for him and will be driving it out to him in a couple weeks.

It has 80K miles and is rust free since it spent its life in Palm Springs in a air conditioned garage. It was an estate sale and I got it for what I thought was a good price. It was really clean except for a couple bumper rubs, those I expect since mot 90 year olds drive by braille anyways.

I did the usual stuff to it, Plugs, belts, hoses, oilchange, front brakes. Then I started looking at a few PI Vics in the pick a parts and noticed a few things. Most of the suspension is exactly the same
so I grabbed the sway bars. I was going to get the exhaust but ran out of time. That night on FB Marketplace I saw someone elling a complete dual exhaust from a PI for $100 so I went and picked it up.

Got the bars with all new rubber bushings and end links and exhaust on it the following day. Noticed the rear shocks were leaking and the fronts were soft so I swapped those. I noticed the front ball joints were dry and greased them up and after driving it for a day the front end had a little clunk checked it out and it was the upper ball oints. I guess giving them a little love really loosened them up. I ended up changing all 4 since it was apart. I also swapped in new rear springs I got out of a GM in the junk yard. They were like new and were progressively wound not a straight rate like the stock ones.It raised the rear a little but that is fine because I will be putting a hitch on the back.